Organized on Christmas Day 1888 as Mineola Hook & Ladder Co# 1, the Mineola Fire Department was formally chartered in 1910 with the merger of Hook & Ladder Co# 1 and the Jericho Turnpike Engine & Hose Company #1.


The MFD’s volunteers provide Fire & Rescue protection to the Village of Mineola covering both residential & commercial properties as well as the Mineola station of the Long Island Railroad. EMS coverage is provided by the Mineola Volunteer Ambulance Corps.


The department has operated a blend of classic fire apparatus including several open cab Ward LaFrance engines (one of which is still maintained), a 1938 searchlight wagon (still maintained by the dept.), a 1968 Ward LaFrance Hi-Ranger elevating platform, a 1971 Seagrave tiller  and presently a unique 103 foot Bronto Skylift elevating platform.

Engine 166 - 1993 Emergency One 1750 gpm/500 gal.

This rig features a Vista style cab with an enclosed pump operator’s panel. 

Rescue 1610 - 2005 KME

Equipped for firefighting & rescue, it features a full set of Amkus extrication tools, air bags, light tower, speedy dry hopper and responds as a mutual aid Firefighter Assist & Search Team.

Special thanks to Chief of Department Rob Connolly as well as Co. 1 Captain Paulo Martins & Secretary Roger Leal for their hospitality & assistance in providing specs on these rigs.

OTHER STATES

FIREHOUSES

MONUMENTS

ARTWORK

SLOGANS

KITSCHY

ANTIQUES

FIREMATIC HISTORY

Copyright 2009 Tom Rinelli

Copyright 2009 Tom Rinelli

Engine 162 - 2009 KME 1500 gpm/500 gal.

Featuring an enclosed pump operator’s panel, this rig is equipped with one of the last Caterpillar engines as it was ordered just prior to the new 2010 NFPA standards going into effect.

Engine 161 - 2002 Pierce Lance 1500 gpm/500 gal.

As with all of Mineola’s engines, this rig features an enclosed pump operator’s panel in the crew cab.

1938 Diamond T Reo/Ward LaFrance Floodlight

1959 Ward LaFrance

Originally purchased by Mineola, this rig also served the Floral Park Centre Fire Co. (where my uncle was a member for many years) until 1995 when it was retired & brought back to Mineola. Under the guidance of MFD member Joe Wittmann who owned a body shop, the rig underwent a complete restoration including a return to it’s maroon paint scheme (the Lime/Yellow color from Floral Park Centre can still be seen inside around some of the seams). The old Ward was thoroughly maintained under the watchful eye of MFD member Lou Buttacoli until his passing in January 2010.

Copyright 2010 Tom Rinelli

Copyright 2010 Tom Rinelli

Copyright 2010 Tom Rinelli

Copyright 2010 Tom Rinelli